Skip to main content

Call for Nominations: 2022 Warren J. Mitofsky Award

January 05, 2022

Call for Nominations 

The 2022 Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research 

An annual award of The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University 

The Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research honors important work on public opinion and/or survey methodology. Nominees can include those with recent work or past work that continues to have a significant impact on our understanding of public opinion. Nominations can be made for a specific project, innovation, conference paper, article or book, or for a larger body of work by a researcher or practitioner. Special consideration will be given to work drawn on data archived at the Roper Center. The Center welcomes and encourages diversity in all aspects of the research profession, including our award nominees. 

Anyone can make a nomination (including self-nominations) by submitting a statement that includes the full citation of the work(s), a brief description of the work’s significance and impact, and any connection of the nominee to the Roper Center’s public opinion data archives such as a contribution to the archives or use of the archives for research or other purposes. 

The award honors the life and work of the late Warren J. Mitofsky, an innovator in survey research and longtime chair of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research board of directors. 

The 2021 Mitofsky Award winner was Larry Bobo, Dean of Social Science and W.E.B. Du Bois Professor of the Social Sciences at Harvard University.  Past awardees also include Karlyn Bowman, Senior Fellow at the American Enterprise Institute and contributor (2020); Patricia Moy, noted political communications scholar and the Christy Cressey Professor of Communication and Associate Vice Provost for Academic and Student Affairs at the University of Washington (2019); Mollyann Brodie, noted health policy scholar and Senior Vice President for Executive Operations & Executive Director of Public Opinion and Survey Research at the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (2018); Howard Schuman of the Institute for Social Research’s Survey Research Center at the University of Michigan (2017); James Stimson, noted public opinion scholar from the University of North Carolina (2016); Daniel Yankelovich, an American public opinion pioneer (2015); Andrew Kohut, preeminent public opinion pollster and founding director of the Pew Research Center (2014); Adam Berinsky of MIT and Eric Schickler of UC-Berkeley (2013); NORC Senior Fellow Norm Bradburn (2012); media pollster Kathleen Frankovic (2011); General Social Survey originator, James Davis (2010); sociologist Robert Wuthnow (2009); health policy authority Robert Blendon (2008); and political scientist John Mueller (2007).  

For full consideration, nominations must be received by Friday, April 1, 2022. 

Please send nominations to Susan H. Pinkus, Chair of the Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research Committee, at