Skip to main content

Past Mitofsky Award Winners

The Mitofsky Award honors the life and work of the late Warren J. Mitofsky, an innovator in survey research and longtime chair of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research board of directors.  The award recognizes those who have made powerful contributions to the field of public opinion or survey methodology through published scholarship or distinguished practice (presented at a conference or discussed in public media). The Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research honors important work on public opinion and/or survey methodology. Nominees can include those with recent work or past work that continues to have a significant impact on our understanding of public opinion. Nominations can be made for a specific project, innovation, conference paper, article or book, or for a larger body of work by a researcher or practitioner. Special consideration will be given to work drawn on data archived at the Roper Center.

Anyone can make a nomination (including self-nominations) by submitting a statement that includes the full citation of the work(s), a brief description of the work’s significance and impact, and any connection of the nominee to the Roper Center’s public opinion data archives such as a contribution to the archives or use of the archives for research or other purposes. The Center welcomes and encourages diversity in all aspects of the research profession, including our award nominees.  Nominations of women and individuals from other underrepresented groups are especially encouraged.