Skip to main content

Call for Nominations: The Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research

An annual award of The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University

The Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research honors important work on public opinion and/or survey methodology. Nominees can include those with recent work or past work that continues to have a significant impact on our understanding of public opinion. Nominations can be made for a specific project, innovation, conference paper, article or book, or for a larger body of work by a researcher or practitioner. Special consideration will be given to work that draws on data archived at the Roper Center. The Roper Center welcomes and encourages diversity in all aspects of the research profession, including our award nominees.

The award honors the life and work of the late Warren J. Mitofsky, an innovator in survey research and longtime chair of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research board of directors.

The 2018 Mitofsky Award winner was Mollyann Brodie, noted health policy scholar and Senior Vice President for Executive Operations & Executive Director of Public Opinion and Survey Research at the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. The 2017 winner was Howard Schuman of the Institute for Social Research’s Survey Research Center at the University of Michigan, and the 2016 winner was James Stimson, noted public opinion scholar from the University of North Carolina. Previous Mitofsky Award winners also include Daniel Yankelovich, an American public opinion pioneer; Andrew Kohut, preeminent public opinion pollster and founding director of the Pew Research Center; Adam Berinsky of MIT and Eric Schickler of UC-Berkeley; NORC Senior Fellow Norm Bradburn; political scientist John Mueller; health policy authority Robert Blendon; sociologist Robert Wuthnow; General Social Survey originator, James Davis; and media pollster Kathleen Frankovic.

Anyone can make a nomination (including self-nominations) by submitting a statement that includes the full citation of the work(s), a brief description of the work’s significance and impact, and any connection of the nominee to the Roper Center’s public opinion data archives such as a contribution to the archives or use of the archives for research or other purposes.

For full consideration, nominations must be received by March 31, 2019.

Please send nominations to Jonathon P. Schuldt, Chair of the Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research, at